The First Recommendations

15 Apr

When my son told me he was going to start hormonally transitioning, I e-mailed the GLBT National Help Center and wrote “Hi! My daughter- going to be son- is trans and I need to find a support group with other trans parents as well as a therapist familiar with this issue…do you have links for west Los Angeles or South Bay … Thanks!”

I received an e-mail back with the information for the Los Angeles Gender Center:

Los Angeles Gender Center
1923 1/2 Westwood Boulevard, #2
Los Angeles, CA 90025
Phone: 310-475-8880
Email: staff@lagendercenter.com
Website: www.lagendercenter.com

On their website I got in touch with a therapist, Susan P. Landon. She is an amazing person! Susan made time for my husband and I to meet with her in a very short time- after work, too.  She shared with us about a monthly parent support group and   recommended the book The Transgender Child.  (see Resources link).  If you are in the LA area, I highly recommend contacting Susan or another counselor at the Center! Attending the monthly parent support group was a key in helping me rid myself of the “aloneness”.

Around that time, I asked my son if he had any additional reading recommendations, and he e-mailed me back:

“Sweet!  Looks good! I do have other recommended reading stuff but I’m running over to a friend’s house, so will have to get back to you on this.  I think The Transgender Child might be an interesting read, but honestly, I think it’s better for parents who have young children, and honestly, though I now identify as trans, I don’t think I was a trans child.  I think I was a genderqueer child.  Two different things. Okay, well, we’ll talk more soon…
love ya!!!!!”

I wrote:  “I see…yea- whenever you get the chance to read something that you feel is a decent “reflection” of you, that would be helpful 🙂  Meanwhile- remember that I love you no matter! The most important to me is you talking me through this and keeping me connected to you- that is all I could ask! Mommy”

Shortly after he wrote back that we could start off with one or two recommendations at a time to avoid overload.  He sent me a link to a website and a link to a book:

Hudson’s FTM Resource Guide

Whipping Girl: A Transsexual Woman on Sexism and the Scapegoating of Femininity by Julia Serano

Leave a Reply

