Link

Mighty Transwomen Vs. Ridiculous Katie Couric

9 Jan

Mighty Transwomen Vs. Ridiculous Katie Couric

I LOVED reading this FABULOUS post from a writer named Mey. Her bio states, “Mey is a lesbian, Latina trans woman living in Idaho. Her areas of expertise include comic books, trans* issues and pop culture. She has an English Degree, a cat named Sawyer, a tumblr that she uses a lot and a twitter that she only uses occasionally. She’s a selfie princess and Nerdy Bruja Femme.”

Now, I am a straight, 57 year-old mom. I admit that when my friend sent me this link, I kinda gulped when seeing the site’s name for the first time: Autostraddle. The site describes itself as:

“Founded in March 2009 by Riese Bernard and Alexandra Vega and still run by a dedicated team of indentured masochists, Autostraddle is an intelligent, hilarious & provocative voice and a progressively feminist online community for a new generation of kickass lesbian, bisexual & otherwise inclined ladies (and their friends).”

“Whoa,” I thought, “I don’t think I fit this demographic!”. Pretty funny having ME peruse their site…but wait! There really IS great stuff to be found! the specific article mentioned above shares how Katie Couric was completely insensitive to the two actresses she invited onto her show. Clearly, Katie is ignorant about trans-issues. I thought Couric looked ridiculous interviewing these highly intelligent and articulate women. Shame on her…but, really, I was HAPPY they exposed her insensitivity and ignorance! Please take a read and watch the clips!!

 

Leave a Reply

