Stop Encouraging Your Child to be Trans

17 May

This is a FABULOUS blog from an even more FABULOUS writer! This is the real deal. Honest. Funny. Poignant. Loving. We all need more of this!!

LET THE BOY(S) BE

I wasn’t sure how to title this entry.  The runner-up: Stop Encouraging Your Trans Child, but that would not capture the Trump-sized misconception that parents are encouraging their cis children to be trans. No need to reread that sentence, you read it correctly the first time.

A lot of negative comments I receive revolve around this notion; that parents, in some twisted, gender bending way, are molding their children to be trans.  Here’s an example comment:

“Are you serious? You encourage this in a 7 year-old? This is insane.”

I would liken me “encouraging” my child to be trans to me encouraging my 5-year-old to have autism.  The notion that I had a typically developing boy, who I then encouraged to be trans, or perhaps didn’t discourage enough to not be trans…that, my friendis insane.

Many families of trans children go through a harrowing process of understanding…

View original post 404 more words

4 Responses to “Stop Encouraging Your Child to be Trans”

  1. Tyson's Mom May 28, 2016 at 4:36 am #

    Thanks for sharing your world! I’m a mom to a 17 yr old Trans son and I blog also. Feel free to follow me too. 🙂
    You can Like my FB page or click to my blog from there and follow that. 🙂
    https://www.facebook.com/HisMomAJourney
    And my blog link is: http://hismomjourney.blogspot.com
    I see you link to some blogs from yours – would love for you to add mine. As much as I can help other parents, I want to do that. 🙂
    Take care!

Leave a Reply

